Is Hannaford Soy Sauce Gluten Free?

Here are a few gluten-free soy sauce options: Gluten-Free Soy Sauce from Kikkoman. Soy sauce Kikkoman Tamari Gluten-Free Soy Sauce by San-J Tamari.

Is gluten-free soy sauce actually gluten-free?

Soy sauce, despite its name, is not always made entirely of soy. Instead, most soy sauces are produced using wheat, soybeans, salt, and water, therefore they all contain gluten. Some soy sauces, on the other hand, are gluten-free, making these variants suitable for gluten-free diets.

If you must follow a gluten-free diet, read the label on the bottle carefully before smothering your meal in soy sauce. Knowing the distinctions between the many varieties of soy sauce on the market will help you identify possible gluten-free soy sauces.

Here’s a quick rundown of the four primary types of soy sauce you’ll find in the supermarket:

Chinese Soy Sauce

In ancient China, soy sauce was first made by pressing fermented soybeans into a pure bean sauce. The sauce was used to preserve and enhance the flavors of meals while they were cooking. Although Chinese soy sauce now contains wheat in addition to soybeans, it remains the most popular cooking sauce in Chinese cuisine.

Chinese soy sauce is often light, thin, and salty. You can assume that when a Chinese recipe calls for soy sauce, it implies light soy sauce. You might also use a double-fermented light soy sauce to add a mellower tone and a more complex taste to the dish.

Chinese soy sauce comes in dark and double dark variants, which are darker in color and have a thicker viscosity. Darker Chinese soy sauces are also less salty and sweeter than light soy sauces. Dark Chinese soy sauces have a sweet-salty flavor and a sticky texture due to a longer fermenting period and the inclusion of molasses or sugar.

Light Chinese soy sauces are frequently used for dipping items such as dumplings, while darker soy sauces are only used for cooking. To add some more color and taste to a dish, add some dark soy sauce during the last stages of cooking.

Japanese Soy Sauce

Japanese-style soy sauces are referred to as shoyu. It’s usually koikuchi soy sauce, which is produced with both soybeans and wheat to give it a more aromatic flavor. In addition, Japanese soy sauce is lighter and clearer than Chinese soy sauce.

There are five different types of soy sauce in Japan. Shiro, Koikuchi, Usukuchi, Tamari, Saishikomi Japanese soy sauce can be light or dark, and the darker variety is more usually used than the lighter version. Darker kinds include Koikuchi, Tamari, and Saishikomi, and most Japanese-style soy sauces sold in supermarkets are dark, with a darker color and flavor. Dark Japanese soy sauce is a versatile ingredient that may be used in marinades, basting sauces, stir-fries, and dipping sauces.

The light types of Japanese soy sauce are usukuchi and shiro. Although usukuchi soy sauce has a lighter hue, it contains more salt than other types of Japanese soy sauce to allow for a more progressive fermentation and aging process and a lighter color and aroma. You can use light Japanese soy sauce instead of dark, but because light soy sauce has a stronger flavor, you may want to reduce the amount.

Shiro is the Japanese word for white, and its color is considerably lighter than usukuchi. It has a sweeter flavor and aroma thanks to the addition of wheat and a little amount of soybeans. Light Japanese-style soy sauce is popular for flavouring dishes without darkening the color of the components. Clear soups, white-fleshed fish, pickles, and rice crackers are all good candidates.


Tamari is the Japanese word for soy sauce. Tamari is made with 100% soybeans or only very minute amounts of wheat, unlike shoyu (koikuchi soy sauce), which is normally brewed with nearly equal parts soybeans and wheat. Tamari is a dark crimson paste made from cooked and fermented soybeans that was discovered during the miso production process. Tamari is a protein-rich liquid that forms as miso matures.

Tamari has a richer flavor than other soy sauces due to its increased soybean content. When cooked, it also preserves its flavor. Tamari’s rich, well-rounded flavor makes it a superb dipping sauce as well as a complement to any cuisine. Tamari can be used in a variety of dishes, including stir-fries, teriyaki, and soups.

HVP Sauce

A HVP (hydrolyzed vegetable protein) sauce is manufactured by chemically breaking down soy protein and combining it with other flavorings to create a product that looks like soy sauce. The soy protein is hydrolyzed or broken down into amino acids, then combined with sugars, salt, coloring additives such as corn syrup and caramel, water, and chemicals to neutralize the mixture.

While artificial soy sauce can be used for cooking and dipping, we encourage sticking with traditional fermented soy sauces. Also, HVP soy sauce may contain a variety of artificial preservatives, so read the label carefully.

Are gluten-free soy sauce packets available?

Organic Tamari Soy Sauce is gluten-free and made without artificial additives over months of brewing. The Non-GMO Project has also confirmed it.

Is soy sauce from China gluten-free?

No. Because Chinese soy sauce is usually produced with wheat, it is incompatible with celiac disease sufferers. Wheat flour must be specified as an ingredient on the ingredients list if it was used. Most big supermarkets have gluten-free versions in the ‘Free From’ department. There are certain forms of tamari soy sauce that are appropriate as well. Our online Food and Drink Information Service has a list of them.

Is it safe for celiacs to eat soy?

Soy is gluten-free by nature, although some soy products include gluten-containing components.

Soy and soy products are OK to eat as long as they are gluten-free and you don’t have a soy allergy or sensitivity. Soy is a legume that is gluten-free by nature.

Always read labels carefully and seek gluten-free goods that have fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten.

If you experience any symptoms after eating soy, consult your doctor to rule out a soy sensitivity or allergy.

Which soy sauce ingredient contains gluten?

Regular soy sauce contains gluten. Many people who are new to gluten-free diets are surprised to learn that soy sauce contains wheat. There are a variety of gluten-free soy sauces that use rice instead of wheat. If you can’t locate gluten-free soy sauce, tamari is a decent gluten-free alternative. Always check the ingredients label before purchasing and ingesting anything.

What gluten-free soy sauce can I use instead?

Soy sauce alternative coconut aminos is created from fermented coconut palm sap. It’s free of soy, wheat, and gluten, and has a lower salt content than soy sauce, making it a viable substitute.

Is gluten included in Japanese soy sauce?

Another key spice in many Japanese foods is soy sauce, which is derived from soy beans. However, because wheat is used in the brewing process, it is not gluten-free. Look for tamari soy sauce that is produced entirely of soybeans and has no wheat. It can be difficult to tell whether a restaurant’s soy sauce is gluten-free, so bring your own tamari soy sauce packets with you while dining out.

What is soy sauce without soy?

Gluten-Free and Soy-Free Coconut Aminos Coconut aminos is actually a coconut sap-based sauce. Coconut aminos, a delicious soy-sauce substitute, are made by fermenting the sap and blending it with salt. Because Paleo and Whole30 diets do not include soy, coconut aminos have becoming increasingly popular.

What gluten-free flour is there?

Although it has the term “wheat” in its name, buckwheat is not a wheat grain and is gluten-free. It’s part of the pseudocereals family, which includes grains that are eaten like cereals but aren’t grasses.

Buckwheat flour has a deep, earthy flavor that works well in fast and yeast breads.

It has a crumbly texture because to the absence of gluten. It can be blended with other gluten-free flours, such as brown rice flour, to generate a high-quality product.

It’s high in iron, folate, magnesium, zinc, manganese, and fiber, as well as a range of B vitamins. Antioxidants abound in buckwheat flour, particularly the polyphenol rutin, which has anti-inflammatory properties (4, 5, 6, 7).

During processing, transportation, or rotational cropping with wheat, buckwheat can get cross-contaminated with gluten-containing goods. To be safe, look for gluten-free certification on the label.

Buckwheat flour is high in fiber and minerals, as well as antioxidants that aid in inflammation reduction.