Does Subway Chipotle Sauce Have Dairy?

Additional Allergen Notes: To help limit allergen cross contamination, most Subway personnel have been trained to change their gloves, use a clean knife, and place a fresh wrapper between your sandwich and the work station upon request. By ingredients, all of the following Subway foods are nut-free and peanut-free. Unless otherwise stated, they are also gluten-free and egg-free. Please consult their ingredient list for soy-free options. Several products include soy or have “may contain” soy warnings. Soy lecithin or soy oil are the most common soy ingredients.

Breads & Wraps

Attention! Although the Artisan Flatbread is free of milk ingredients, the maker includes a “may contain milk” disclaimer due to the possibility of cross-contamination during the manufacturing process. Pizza may be available at some locations, however please be aware that Subway’s pizza dough contains milk.

Vegan Options

All non-meat items listed above that do not contain honey or egg (as stated) are vegan-friendly, including the Veggie Patty. Please be aware that in some locations outside of the United States, a vegetarian patty with milk and egg is available.

This Post is for Informational Purposes Only

Menus, ingredients, culinary techniques, management, and restaurants can all be altered at any time. Before ordering, always study the menu and discuss your dietary requirements with the staff. Check to see if they can fulfill your needs. This post is intended to provide general information only and should not be interpreted as advice.

What subway sauces are vegan?

Then pour in your sauce. You may choose from a variety of vegan sauces and dressings at Subway, including yellow mustard, deli brown mustard, mustard seed spread, oil and vinegar, Subway vinaigrette, sweet onion sauce, and fat-free Italian dressing. The black bean soup, which is available at select Subway restaurants, is another vegan option. Packaged refreshments, such as apple slices and chips, are also available.

Is Subway Buffalo sauce dairy free?

Subway’s sauces are what make your sub or wrap sparkle in all of its vegan beauty.

The Buffalo Sauce, Yellow Mustard, Deli Brown Mustard, and, of course, the oil, vinegar, and vinaigrette you might want to add to your side salad are all vegan-friendly sauces and dressings offered at the fast-food business.

Is Subway sweet onion sauce vegan?

Yes, the sweet onion sauce is vegan, and it goes great with a tomato basil wrap, a Mediterranean-inspired sub, or a side salad.

Is vegan mayo available at Subway?

If you can locate the Beyond Meat meatball sub at your local Subway, you should be able to purchase vegan mayo to go with it as well, as it’s part of the original recipe. If your preferred location does not offer the Meatless Marinara sub, you will be unable to obtain vegan mayo and will be forced to rely on other specialty condiments such as sweet onion sauce or Deli Brown mustard.

Is Subway BBQ sauce vegan?

Subway’s barbecue sauce, like many other barbecue sauces on the market, contains animal products, though it’s unclear what kind of non-vegan components are used.

According to traditional BBQ sauce recipes, the sauce may contain anchovies or honey — if you want a powerful kick, go with the Buffalo sauce!

Is Chipotle Sauce vegan?

Taco Bell fans, rejoice: all of Taco Bell’s sauces, including border sauce, diablo border sauce, fire border sauce, hot border sauce, green chile sauce, green tomatillo sauce, and red sauce, are vegan, according to VegOut. Keep in mind that none of the creamy sauces, including the chipotle sauce and sour cream, are vegan, according to Spoon University.

What is Subway’s chipotle sauce made of?

Ranch, mayonnaise, chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, vinegar, onion powder, and garlic powder are the major components in Subway’s southern chipotle sauce.

The chipotle southwest sauce is thick and creamy. It’s pleasantly sweet, with a good mix of spice and tang, as well as a smidgeon of acidity. This sauce can give practically any food a blast of flavor, whether it’s a tuna sandwich or a chicken salad.

The southwest chipotle sauce has roughly 100 calories per serving, 10 grams of fat, and 220 milligrams of salt, so it’s not as healthy as you may think. Doesn’t that give you even more reasons to cook it at home?

Keep the sauce refrigerated in an airtight container. This should keep it fresh for up to two weeks.

Does subway have a vegan option?

The Italian (white) is the only vegan choice offered at all locations, while the chain offers additional plant-based bread options that differ by region. Harvest, Hearty Italian, Roasted Garlic, Ciabatta, and Sourdough are among them. The tomato basil and spinach wraps are also free of animal products.

Is Subway marinara sauce vegan?

Subway joined a number of other food companies in offering a vegan version of their iconic dish, the Meatball Marinara, at the start of the year. It’s called Meatless Meatball Marinara, after all.

The plant-based non-meatballs are slathered in the classic marinara sauce and topped with melted vegan cheese in this sandwich.

We initially assumed we’d only be able to get the vegan sandwich for a limited period. However, Subway has officially declared that it will remain on the permanent menu indefinitely!

“Our visitors have informed us how much they appreciate our Meatless Meatball Marinara,” stated Colin Hughes, Country Director Subway UK & Ireland. They may now get their hands on our delectable plant-based Sub whenever they want, prepared anyway they like. All while knowing that Subway now offers even more delectable vegan options than ever!”

This isn’t Subway’s first vegan product; the fast-food chain already offers a Vegan Sub and a Vegan Salad, and a number of its sauces, including Garlic Aioli, Sriracha Hot Chilli, and Sweet Onion, are vegan.

With their Vegan Steak Bake, which was debuted in January, Greggs put a vegan spin on a classic in 2020.

Does subway vinaigrette have dairy?

The VRG compiled the following list based on this Product Ingredient Guide and confirmed information from Subway (details below).

“The sugar used in the Italian, Roasted Garlic, and Sourdough breads is NOT processed through cow bone char,” Lanette Kavachi, Subway’s Corporate Dietitian, wrote to us in September 2016.

Also featured is rye bread, which appears to be vegan. “The rye bread is coming off the menu; we are just reducing inventory,” Lanette told us in January 2017. She didn’t go into any further detail about it.

“We particularly questioned our suppliers if sugar they used was processed using cow-bone char,” Lanette said in response to a follow-up email from The VRG inquiring whether Subway had gotten certificates from suppliers explicitly indicating that “No cow bone char was used to process this sugar.”

We inquired about the Roasted Garlic Bread’s natural flavor. We also inquired if the producer had utilized sorbitan monostearate, which is created from animal-derived stearic acid and is used by some other companies as an emulsifier in their bread yeast. Finally, we wanted to know if the yeast extract in some Subway breads was prepared with L-cysteine, which is normally derived from animals, as a response taste. “The Italian, Sourdough, and Roasted Garlic Breads do not include any animal-derived components,” she said in response to all of my concerns.

Mono- and diglycerides, as well as sugar, are found in Subway’s Wrap. “For the Wrap, the sugar is not processed through cow bone char, and the mono and di-glycerides are plant-derived,” Lanette told us.

“Dextrose” (i.e. glucose, a simple sugar) and “sugar” are also listed as components in Subway’s Product Ingredients Guide for Sourdough Bread. “The sourdough sugar is not treated through cow bone char,” Lanette said when we questioned about the source and processing method of dextrose.

“The enzymes in the Sourdough Bread… plant-derived,” Lanette added.

The VegiMax Patty (labeled “Veggie Patty”) is included in the sections “Limited Time Offer/Regional Subs” and “Individual Meats” of that PDF.

Note that the VegiMax Patty’s nutritional information is not available on Subway’s Nutrition webpage, which features an interactive Nutrition Facts data table.

It’s not on the website since it’s a regional product; we keep the homepage for national or optional products seen at most restaurants…

The nutritional information for vegetarian patties may be found in the printer-friendly nutrition guide in the right margin of our nutrition page. It is listed in that section of the PDF document as a local/optional product.

Despite the fact that it contains two allergens: eggs and dairy, The VegiMax Patty does not show on the US Allergy and Sensitivity PDF (link also found on the right menu on Subway’s nutrition page). “This chart does not include regional or unique promotional items as ingredients differ,” says a disclaimer at the top of the page. This same disclaimer occurs in the US Product Ingredients PDF, which includes the regional VegiMax Patty.

Black Bean Soup is available at a limited number of Subway restaurants. Lanette was questioned if the brown sugar in this soup, as well as the sugar in the vegetarian taste, had been prepared using cow bone char. “I’ve just heard back from our soup source, and the sugar in the black bean soup is not processed through cow bone char,” she said after contacting her supplier on our behalf.

The Buffalo Sauce has “natural butter like taste,” which is “not animal-derived,” according to Lanette, making it vegan. Sugar is present in the Sweet Onion Sauce. “The sugar in the sweet onion sauce is not processed through cow bone char,” Lanette explained. Honey and eggs are both used in the Honey Mustard Sauce.

Sugar is present in the Subway Vinaigrette, which “is not processed through bone char.” All of Subway’s other dressings contain eggs, dairy, or anchovies.

The information on this page, on our website, and in our other publications, such as Vegetarian Journal, is not intended to be used for personal medical advice. A certified health practitioner should be consulted for medical guidance. We frequently rely on corporate statements for product and ingredient information. It is hard to be 100 percent certain about a statement because information might change, people’s opinions differ, and mistakes can occur. Please use your best judgment when deciding whether or not a product is right for you. If you want to be sure, conduct some additional study or confirmation on your own.