Does Hoisin Sauce Have Nuts?

There is no additional MSG in our Choy Sun Oyster Flavored Sauce or Panda Brand Green Label Oyster Flavored Sauce. Please keep in mind that MSG is naturally present in the ingredients of oyster-flavored sauces.

Although our Hoisin Sauce is free of peanuts and milk, it does include wheat flour, which is an allergen for certain people. Please consult your dietician before consuming for your own safety.

There are no dairy, eggs, peanuts, tomatoes, honey, mustard, rye, or potato (starch) in our Plum Sauce, but it does contain wheat and soy.

The majority of our goods are free of milk, almonds, and peanuts. If the product contains the top nine significant allergies, we clearly disclose them on the ingredient list. Soy, wheat or other gluten-containing grains, peanuts, eggs, milk (dairy), tree nuts, crustacean shellfish, fish, and sesame are the nine major allergens. Please verify the ingredient list on the label before purchasing a product for your own safety.

Peanuts and their derivatives are not present in any of the products manufactured in the United States. Peanuts and their derivatives are produced in the same facilities as other Chinese products and may use the same production lines. Please be assured that our manufacturing facilities use Good Manufacturing Practices to ensure product safety and prevent cross contamination.

Sugar is an excellent base for many Asian sauces because they are made to be savory and flavorful. Additionally, due to food and safety requirements, both sugar and salt are added to foods to aid in food preservation and quality. With the amount of sauce used in your dish, you can make alterations in your cooking.

Product Questions

Because of the fermenting process, our soy sauces contain trace levels of alcohol. Our sauces with oyster taste don’t.

It’s not a good idea to freeze oyster sauce. Although the flavor remains the same, freezing might produce viscosity variations. Furthermore, if the oyster sauce is frozen in its glass bottle, the glass may fracture.

There have been numerous complaints about “Made in China” items. How can you be certain that your items are safe to eat?

Lee Kum Kee goods adhere to all applicable food laws and regulations around the world.

Lee Kum Kee is devoted to providing safe, dependable, and healthful products to its customers as a responsible global food company.

Lee Kum Kee’s products are sold in over 100 countries and areas across the world, with its headquarters in Hong Kong.

Lee Kum Kee has received numerous international honors and accreditations for its quality assurance procedures throughout the years. The Hong Kong Q-Mark Council has granted Lee Kum Kee the Hong Kong Q-Mark License since 1994. Lee Kum Kee is the first food company in Hong Kong to be awarded an ISO9002 International Quality Standard Accreditation, which it has held since 1999.

HACCP (Hazards Analysis Critical Control Point) certification is given to all Lee Kum Kee plants around the world. HACCP is a widely recognized food safety management method. Lee Kum Kee is also the first and only Hong Kong food company with its own laboratory that has acquired worldwide accreditation for testing against 3-MCPD in raw materials and finished goods from the Hong Kong Accreditation Service.

Lee Kum Kee’s manufacturing facilities also hold a number of international certifications, including ISO 9001 Quality Management System, ISO 22000 Food Safety Management System, ISO 14001 Environmental Management System, and BRC Global Standard for Food Safety Certification. Lee Kum Kee also has certifications in specialist product categories such organic, gluten-free, Kosher, and Halal. The Lee Kum Kee brand is a mark of quality and confidence for both customers and food industry professionals, and it has a 130-year history in the food sector.

It can be used for a range of cooking methods, including dipping, stir-frying, gravy foundation, seasoning, dressing, and so on, depending on the sauce. Our website’s recipe section has all of the applications and dish ideas.

The main difference is in the soy sauce production technique as well as the raw materials utilized to make the soy sauce.

Both types of soy sauce are available at Lee Kum Kee.


For product quality reasons, it is recommended that the product be refrigerated after opening. However, it is the obligation of the customer to handle meals in the most sanitary manner possible. Contamination of unsealed foods could be dangerous to people’s health.

What is hoisin sauce made of?

Hoisin sauce is made up of of fermented soybean paste. Starches including sweet potato, wheat, and rice, as well as water, sugar, soybeans, sesame seeds, white distilled vinegar, salt, garlic, red chili peppers, and sometimes preservatives or coloring agents, are some of the ingredients in hoisin sauce.

Does soy sauce have peanuts?

I haven’t tested any of these recipes yet, but I’m keeping track of them for future use.

  • Cybele Pascal has posted a recipe for top 8 allergen-free soy sauce made with beef stock, seaweed, cider vinegar, garlic, ginger, and pepper on her website. That sounds delicious and full of umami flavor.

Are there any nut-free pre-made soy sauce alternatives (updated January 23)?

I’m excited to test these as soon as the opportunity arises. As a result of the overwhelming positive feedback from readers and friends, I’ve narrowed down the possibilities to the following short list:

Liquid Aminos by Bragg According to their website, their equipment is peanut, tree nut, and wheat free. However, according to an email response I received in February 2013, walnuts are the only nut present, processed, and/or stored in the facility with their liquid amino product.

Coconut Aminos are soy-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan, making them a good choice for those who aren’t sensitive to coconut. This product is used by a number of reliable nut allergy mommy friends. An allergen advisory is posted on the manufacturer’s website, as well as the information that they follow a stringent allergen procedure.

A gluten-free soy sauce is available from Kikkoman. According to their allergen chart, there are no peanuts in the facility, thus cross contact with peanuts is unlikely. Kikkoman does make a few tree nut-based items. The “all-purpose Kikkoman Soy Sauce” and the Kikkoman Less Sodium Soy Sauce, on the other hand, are made at the Kikkoman Foods, Inc. plant in Walworth, Wisconsin, and contain no peanuts or tree nuts. Please go to the back of your label to determine where the product was manufactured.” If you have any further issues, I recommend checking the label and calling them.

(Please note Sarah’s remarks below, thank you!!!) Red Boat Fish Sauce It’s created with anchovies and sea salt, and it’s devoid of peanuts, shellfish, gluten, and soy, according to their FAQ. This gives up some delicious possibilities for various Vietnamese cuisines, such as pho!

San-J produces gluten-free Tamari Soy Sauce in a range of flavors. When I emailed the company about their allergen policy, I got the following response (which is very awesome!):

Does oyster sauce have peanuts?

Lee Kum Kee: I’m Lee Kum Kee, and I’m I’m a fan of their Lee Kum Kee Premium Oyster Sauce (affiliate link), which features an image of a lady and a boy rowing (not to be confused with their Panda line of oyster sauce). It’s the brand my mother buys, and it’s the only one that tastes good to me. An review of the ingredient labels reveals what distinguishes their premium brand from many other oyster sauces. Only Lee Kum Kee’s Premium Oyster Sauce specifies oysters as the first ingredient, whilst other brands do not “The first few ingredients in “oyster flavored sauce” are water and sugar. I don’t want to buy “oyster flavored sauce” that is mostly made of water and sugar; I want flavorful “oyster sauce.” We don’t have any problems with the premium oyster sauce, but for the purposes of this blog, I’ve emailed and called Lee Kum Kee several times for clarity on certain goods, and as of today, I still haven’t heard back, which is distressing. The allergen information on their FAQ page, on the other hand, is useful, clear, and explicit, including specifics on how they avoid cross-contact and analyze for peanut residue. Please contact them again if you have any further concerns by calling their Los Angeles office (let me know what you find out in the comments below). The product costs $4-5 per bottle if purchased from an Asian market.

The majority of our goods are free of milk, eggs, almonds, and peanuts. If the product contains the top nine significant allergies, we clearly disclose them on the ingredient list. Soy, wheat or other gluten-containing grains, peanuts, eggs, milk (dairy), tree nuts, shrimp and crustaceans, fish, and sesame are the nine major allergens. Please verify the ingredient list on the label before purchasing a product for your own safety.

Peanuts and their derivatives are handled at our manufacturing facilities. We’ve put in place nut handling standards and processes to ensure that peanuts and sesame are stored separately, with their own tools and containers. The creation of these peanut and sesame products is scheduled at the end of each working week, and we adhere to strict cleaning processes. As a result, cross contamination is reduced. Furthermore, we test the peanut residue in the next production batch to verify that no peanuts end up in other goods.

Kikkoman: Some people may feel at ease with Kikkoman goods, and according to their allergen information chart, peanuts and tree nuts are not included in the product, however peanuts are present in the manufacturing facility. Oyster sauce typically contains soy, wheat, gluten, shellfish, and maize, but check their allergen information sheet and contact them if you have any questions that aren’t answered there. There are three types: blue label, green label, and red label. I chose the green label since it is devoid of preservatives and MSG. I bought a bottle of Kikkoman Green Label Oyster Sauce to sample, and it’s delicious, but not what I’m used to.

Wan Ja Shan: Those who are allergic to shellfish or prefer a vegetarian option could look for mushroom-flavored vegetarian oyster sauce, which is a popular substitute for oyster sauce. Wan Ja Shan creates a vegetarian mushroom oyster sauce, which they told me about through email “Our entire factory does not process any ingredients that contain Peanuts or Tree Nuts.” If you have any other allergies concerns, I recommend contacting them for more information. Wan Ja Shan Mushroom Oyster Sauce is tasty, but it’s a little watery when compared to conventional oyster sauce. I haven’t tried Lee Kum Kee’s mushroom oyster sauce, so I can’t comment on the flavor, but if I had to choose, I’d go with Wan Ja Shan because I know the chance of cross contamination is very low.

Can I sub oyster sauce for hoisin?

Hoisin sauce is a thick Chinese condiment with overtones of umami, sweetness, and tanginess. It has a barbecue sauce-like flavor and can be created with a variety of components, including vinegar, chili paste, and garlic.

Hoisin sauce can frequently be substituted for oyster sauce in a 1:1 ratio because it has a comparable consistency. However, depending on the components, it may have a stronger flavor, in which case you should use a smaller amount.

For stir-fries and marinades, hoisin sauce can be used for oyster sauce. It’s usually used in vegan or vegetarian dishes.

How is hoisin sauce different from oyster sauce?

Hoisin sauce is a rich, reddish-brown sauce with a sweet-salty flavor that can be used as an ingredient or dipping sauce in Asian cuisine. Oyster sauce is most usually used to give meals a salty umami flavor with a hint of oyster flavor. Hoisin sauce is saltier and fishier, whereas oyster sauce is less sweet.

The consistency of both sauces will vary depending on the brand. The majority of hoisin sauces are thicker than oyster sauces.

What’s the difference between hoisin sauce and soy sauce?

What Is The Difference Between Hoisin And Soy Sauce? Hoisin sauce has a thicker consistency and a sweeter flavor than soy sauce. Our hoisin sauce comprises soy sauce, but it also contains a variety of other ingredients that give it its particular flavor.

Is hoisin sauce same as oyster sauce?

Is Hoisin Sauce and Oyster Sauce the Same Thing? Hoisin sauce is not the same as oyster sauce, despite their similar taste and look. Hoisin sauce is produced from a combination of soybeans and spices rather than oysters. Hoisin sauce frequently contains notes of onion and red chili peppers.

Is sesame a nut?

Sesame seeds are small, flat oval seeds with a nutty flavor and a subtle, almost imperceptible crunch.

Despite the fact that sesame seeds are categorized as seeds rather than nuts, the proteins in sesame seeds may match those in certain nuts and cause an allergic reaction in children with nut allergies.

For this reason it is recommended that children who have nut allergies avoid foods that contain seeds as well e.g. sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, poppy seeds.

Seed-containing foods should be supplied to children who do not have nut allergies because they are part of a healthy balanced diet and supply vital fats for growing youngsters. These types of foods should be included in small amounts in the menus of child care facilities that give food to children who do not have nut allergies.

Can I drink soy milk if I’m allergic to nuts?

The best strategy to manage a soy allergy, like other food allergies, is to avoid consuming soy-containing items.

Soy is one of the eight allergens covered by the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004’s labeling regulations. This means that manufacturers of packaged foods marketed in the United States that contain soy or a soy-based component must identify the presence of soy in the product in plain English.

Some infant formulae, canned broths, soups, canned tuna, processed meats and hot dogs, energy bars, baked goods, and many other processed foods contain soy or soy derivatives. Soy is also found in chicken nuggets, low-fat peanut butter, alternative nut butters, and even vodka, and is a common ingredient in Asian cuisine. Soy milk, soy yogurt, soy ice cream, edamame, miso, tempeh, and tofu should not be consumed by anyone who are allergic to soy.

The vast majority of people who are allergic to soy can safely ingest highly refined soybean oil. Consult your allergist about whether or not you should avoid this component. Also, due to the danger of cross-contact, be cautious when eating items that have been cooked in any form of oil: If a soy-containing dish is fried in oil, the oil absorbs particular soy proteins; if a different, non-soy-containing food is then cooked in the same oil, it may cause an allergic reaction.

Foods containing soy lecithin, a blend of fatty compounds generated from soybean processing, are typically tolerated by those with a soy allergy. Ask your allergist if soy lecithin is safe for you if you have a soy allergy.

People who have a soy allergy may question if they should avoid peanuts as well, as peanuts are another prominent allergy trigger. “Not always,” is the answer. They are unrelated foods with unrelated allergy triggers. Tree nuts such as almonds, walnuts, and cashews are not related to soybeans. People who are allergic to soy are no more likely than others to be allergic to tree nuts or peanuts.

To take control of your soy allergy and live the life you desire, speak with an allergist.

Managing a severe food reaction with Epinephrine is a naturally occurring hormone, also called adrenaline. It is one of two chemicals (the other is norepinephrine) released by the adrenal gland. Epinephrine increases the speed and force of heart beats and thereby the work that can be done by the heart. It dilates the airways to improve breathing and narrows blood vessels in the skin and intestine so that an increased flow of blood reaches the muscles and allows them to cope with the demands of exercise. Epinephrine has been produced synthetically as a drug since 1900. It remains the drug of choice for treatment of anaphylaxis.’ rel=”tooltip” title=”epinephrine”>epinephrine

Soy is one of the most prevalent allergies in foods. All food allergies, however, can be harmful.

Anaphylaxis is a severe whole-body allergic reaction that involves symptoms such as constriction of the airway. Epinephrine is the first-line treatment for anaphylaxis. Anaphylaxis can happen seconds or minutes after being exposed to an allergen, and it can be fatal.

Your allergist will most likely prescribe an epinephrine auto-injector and instruct you how to use it once you’ve been diagnosed with a food allergy. Check your auto-expiration injector’s date, write it down on your calendar, and ask your pharmacy about prescription renewal reminder services.

Make sure you have two doses on hand in case the extreme response occurs again. If you have severe symptoms like shortness of breath, coughing, a weak pulse, generalized hives, tightness in the throat, trouble breathing or swallowing, or a combination of symptoms from different body areas like hives, rashes, or swelling on the skin combined with vomiting, diarrhea, or abdominal pain, you should use epinephrine right away. It’s possible that multiple doses of epinephrine will be required.

If you’re not sure whether a reaction requires epinephrine, use it straight away. The benefits of epinephrine greatly exceed the chance that a dose was not required.

Transient anxiety, restlessness, dizziness, and shakiness are common epinephrine adverse effects. The medication might induce an irregular heart rate or rhythm, a heart attack, a fast spike in blood pressure, and fluid buildup in the lungs on rare occasions, however these side effects are usually due to dose errors, which are unlikely to occur with the use of epinephrine autoinjectors. Patients with certain pre-existing diseases who may be at higher risk for side effects should discuss epinephrine use with their allergist.

Your allergist will provide you a documented emergency treatment plan that specifies which drugs to take and when they should be taken (note that between 10 and 20 percent of life-threatening severe allergic reactions have no skin symptoms). Make sure you know how to use an epinephrine auto-injector correctly and quickly.

Once epinephrine has been administered, call 911 and notify the dispatcher that epinephrine has been administered and that more emergency services may be required.

Other medications, such as antihistamines and corticosteroids, may be recommended to treat moderate food allergy symptoms, but it’s crucial to remember that epinephrine is the only treatment that can reverse the life-threatening symptoms of anaphylaxis.

Managing soy allergies in children

Because soy allergy reactions, like other food allergy symptoms, can occur when a child is not with his or her parents, parents should check to see if their child’s school, day care, or other program has a written emergency action plan with instructions on how to prevent, recognize, and manage these episodes in class and during activities like sporting events and field trips. Food Allergy Research & Education, a non-profit organization, has compiled a list of resources for schools, parents, and kids dealing with food allergies.

If your child has been prescribed an auto-injector, make sure you and those in charge of his or her supervision know how to use it.