Is Starbucks Almond Milk Whole30 Compliant?

No, Starbucks’ almond milk isn’t Whole30 compliant because it contains sugar and other ingredients. Bring your own Whole30-compliant almond milk instead!

Is Starbucks’ almond milk unsweetened?

“Customers can adjust it to their taste preferences because it’s unflavored.” Without any extra flavoring, Starbucks Almondmilk contains mild almond undertones. In comparison, an 8-ounce serving of 2 percent dairy milk contains 12-13 grams of naturally occurring sugar.

On Whole30, can I have an almond milk latte?

We’re back on another Whole30 to kick off the new year. Every time I do a Whole30, I tell myself that this is the last time I’ll do it.

It’s probably because A. it’s rather sucky (in a John Mellencamp kind of manner) and B. I’m not sure who I am “I’m “cured” of ever allowing my diet to deteriorate, and I’ll never, ever eat sugar or consume too much low-quality dairy again.

I’ve never been a fan of black coffee, owing to the fact that I don’t drink it very often “I don’t drink caffeine, but I do enjoy a hot cup of something in the morning.

How do I make coffee taste better on Whole30?

Normally, it’s my Smith-Style Bulletproof Coffee (recipe HERE), but when I’m on a Whole30, maple syrup isn’t allowed. So it’s just coffee and coconut oil for me, which I’m not passionate about.

Not only is it free of the harmful thickeners and additives found in most other products, but it also tastes far better.

It smells like almond milk and tastes like almond milk. This is how almond milk is supposed to taste. However, make sure to use their UNSWEETENED version, as that is the compatible version.

What’s more, guess what? It froths up. That’s right, frothy individuals. As if it were a Starbucks cappuccino. Yes, I’ve made a Whole30 almond milk latte that I prefer to Starbucks! I’d add a “mic drop” at this point, but that’s just too 2015 for this gal.

How to make almond milk latte:

A teaspoon of cinnamon, coffee, coconut oil, and almond milk Simply combine all of the ingredients in a tall measuring cup and blend until nice and frothy! There’s no need for a fancy milk foamer.

Tips for making this dairy-free almond milk latte recipe:

  • For a Whole30 Compliant Almond Milk Latte, be sure to use UNSWEETENED almond milk.
  • This dairy-free latte is excellent hot, but you can also serve it over ice or as a frappe by incorporating in some ice cubes after blending.

Starbucks uses what kind of almond milk?

We had the same question; given the new mix is a Starbucks unique recipe, we were curious as to what goes into this new plant-based dairy substitute. It’s critical to understand what you’re putting into your body, particularly if you have allergies. As a result, we requested Starbucks for a copy of the ingredient list, which they gladly provided. Here’s what the new “almondmilk” contains.

“Filtered water, almonds, sugar, Tricalcium Phosphate, Sunflower Lecithin, Sea Salt, Xanthan Gum, Guar Gum, Vitamin A, Palmitate, Vitamin D2 (Ergocalciferol), Xanthan Gum, Guar Gum, Vitamin A, Palmitate, Vitamin D2 (Ergocalciferol), Vitamin A, Palmitate, Vitamin D2 (Ergocalciferol), Vitamin D2 (Ergocalcif

Let’s take a look at what you’d find in a grocery shop before you jump out of your seat and exclaim, “Whoa, that’s a lot more than just almonds!” Silk Original Almondmilk has the following ingredients: “Almondmilk (Filtered Water, Almonds), Cane Sugar, Vitamin and Mineral Blend (Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin E Acetate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2), Sea Salt, Sunflower Lecithin, Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum, Sunflower Lecithin, Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum.”

Are you noticing any resemblances? Don’t be alarmed; they are common components, and if you’ve been avoiding dairy for a long time, you’ve probably been drinking it for years. Do you want to discover what other foods have similar ingredients? Almond Breeze, So Delicious, Pacific, and Dream Unlimited Almond are among of the brands available.

Is almond milk allowed in Whole30 coffee?

Read the ingredient list before you inquire if Cholula hot sauce, French’s Yellow, or aTanka bar* are suitable. If all of the ingredients are in good condition, the cuisine will be as well. It’s off-limits for your Whole30 if it contains an off-plan element.

The amount of sugar on the nutrition label has no bearing on whether or not anything is Whole30 compliant. Because nutrition labels round to the next whole digit, just because something reads “0 grams” next to “sugar” doesn’t imply it’s sugar-free! In the ingredient list, look for any type of sugar (real or artificial). If it’s on the list, it’s off the table for your Whole30.

Carrageenan and sulfites are not allowed on the Whole30 diet. Other commonly used additives, such as xanthan gum and ascorbic acid, are permitted. Not all additions are harmful; ascorbic acid may sound frightening, but it’s only another name for vitamin C. For further information, see our Common Additive Cheat Sheet.

Almond Flour: Yes

Yes, almond flour, coconut flour, tapioca flour, cassava flour, and other non-grain-based flours can be used, however it depends on the situation. You may use it for breadcrumbs in meatballs, dredge a piece of chicken in it, or thicken a sauce or stew with it. It’s not allowed in Paleo baking, such as muffins, pancakes, bread, cupcakes, cookies, waffles, biscuits, tortillas, pizza crust, or anything similar; it’s also not allowed in pasta or gnocchi recreations. Those foods are strictly forbidden throughout your Whole30 due to our “Pancake Rule, formerly known as SWYPO.”

Almond Milk: Read Your Labels

Commercially made almond milk is more readily available than ever before, but the majority will still contain sugar, and a handful may even contain carrageenan, making it off-limits for your Whole30. If you can’t locate a matching brand, such as New Barn Unsweetened or JOI, you can make your ownjust make sure there’s no added sugar!

Arrowroot Powder or Tapioca Starch: Yes

These are excellent thickeners and are particularly useful in sauces and gravies. They are not, however, suitable for use in baked items, as is almond flour.

Bacon: Read your labels

While it’s getting simpler to get suitable bacon these days, it’s still a challenge in many regions of the country (and the world!). Applegate, ButcherBox, Naked Bacon, Pederson’s Natural Farms, and US Wellness Meats are a few Whole30 Approved partners that carry appropriate bacon. If you’re having problems, check with your local natural foods store, or (even better) ask a local farmer or butcher shop.

Bragg’s Amino Acids: No

Bragg’s Amino Acids are made from soy, therefore soy in any form is prohibited on the Whole30. Coconut Secret Coconut Aminos, Big Tree Farms Coconut Aminos, or Thrive Market Coconut Aminos are all terrific Whole30-friendly alternatives. It tastes exactly like soy sauce.

Buckwheat: No

Buckwheat belongs to a group of plants known as pseudo-cereals. These products are not botanically grains, but they do contain substances that have the potential to cause comparable issues, which is why we recommend avoiding them during your Whole30.

Cacao (100%): Yes

Cacao (or 100 percent cocoa) is delicious as a savory spice (try It Starts With Food’s Mocha Steak Rub), but you can also use it to flavor your coffee or tea. During your program, however, do not combine cacao with dates, figs, or other fruits to form chocolate-like confections. That is against the program’s spirit and purpose.

Canola Oil: Yes, reluctantly (because sometimes, you have to dine out)

While we don’t believe vegetable oils are the healthiest option, we don’t rule them out completely on the Whole30. You’d never be able to dine outside of your own home if we did, because most restaurants utilize them in their kitchens. We wanted to make the healthiest diet possible, but we also needed it to be manageable for individuals who travel for work or pleasure, or simply wish to eat out during the month.

Even if you’re not doing the Whole30, cut out vegetable oils from your diet at home. Avocado oil, extra-virgin olive oil, coconut oil, ghee, or animal fats like lard or duck fat can all be used in cooking.

Carob: Yes

Carob powder is prepared from the plant’s pod rather than the seed, despite the fact that carob is technically a legume. Because the seed contains all of the potentially problematic elements, it’s fine to eat sections of the plant other than the seed throughout your Whole30.

Chips: Not if they’re store-bought

While we acknowledge that potatoes are a true meal, we equally realize that eating them as fries or chips has transformed them from “production” to a tainted commercial “product.” Based on their contents, it’s simple to discover potato, tortilla, or plantain chips that are Whole30-friendly. It’s not easy, though, to eat those chips in a way that’s faithful to the Whole30’s philosophy. Deep-fried, salted, crispy chips are a true food-without-restraints for most of us, and they fall into that murky zone of less-healthy meals with technically compatible ingredients. As a result, no store-bought chips of any kind are allowed on the Whole30. This includes potato, plantain, tortilla, apple, or kale chips from the store (or from a restaurant). There were no pig rinds at all, even after cooking. However, you are welcome to roast your own greens, pan-fry your own plantains, and bake your own sweet potato spears.

Coconut aminos:Yes

This coconut nectar-based soy sauce alternative is brewed (and softly fermented) with sea salt and water to produce a savory “umami” flavor. All coconut aminos are allowed on the program as a result of this verdict.

Coconut flour: Yes

Yes, you can use coconut flour, almond flour, tapioca flour, and other non-grain flours in certain recipes, but it depends on the situation. You may use it for breadcrumbs in meatballs, dredge a piece of chicken in it, or thicken a sauce or stew with it. It’s not allowed in Paleo baking, such as muffins, pancakes, bread, cupcakes, cookies, waffles, biscuits, tortillas, pizza crust, or anything similar; it’s also not allowed in pasta or gnocchi recreations. Those foods are strictly forbidden throughout your Whole30 due to our “Pancake Rule, formerly known as SWYPO.”

Coconut water: Read your labels

Technically, most coconut waters are suitable because they only include natural sugars from the coconut. Some brands, however, include sugar in their ingredients, so read the labels carefully. You can’t eat anything with added sugar during your Whole30.

Coconut water can be thought of as a “light” fruit juice. Coconut water is an excellent alternative for rehydration if you participate in endurance sports, work in a profession that causes dehydration, or simply want a pleasant treat. Just remember not to substitute coconut water for plain old water in your regular routine.

Coconut milk yogurt: Read your labels

Although most coconut milk yogurt contains added sugar, there are several plain varieties that are Whole30-friendly and provide natural probiotics. Just don’t make a breakfast bowl out of it with dried fruit, shredded coconut, and chocolate nibs, ok?

Coffee: Yes

Yes, you are welcome to have your coffee. Thank you very much. You can drink it straight, or add unsweetened suitable nutpods, coconut milk, almond milk, cinnamon, or vanilla beans to it. However, keep in mind that Whole30 guidelines prohibit the consumption of milk, cream, non-compliant milk substitutes, and additional sweeteners such as date paste or stevia (more on that below).

Dates: Yes

On your Whole30, you can eat whatever fruit you like, including dates. They’re great for adding a hint of sweetness to a sauce, or stuffing them with almonds and wrapping them in (compatible) bacon for a fancy appetizer. Please, no date syrup that has been processed.

Tip: These tiny sugar bombs deliver a powerful punchthey’re as near to sweets as the Whole30 allows. We don’t advocate feeding these to your Sugar Dragon as a “reward.”

French Fries: Not if they’re commercially prepared or deep-fried

Ordering fries with your (non-bun, non-cheese) burger completely misses the Whole30’s aim. Fries exemplify the phrase “food without brakes.” Make your own potatoes at home by baking or roasting them in the oven instead of deep-frying them, or request them baked or mashed (no cheese, sour cream, or butter!) when dining out.

Fruit Juice: Yes

On the Whole30, fruit juice is the only allowable additional sweetener. (Somewhere, we had to draw the line.) Use it to season sauces, soups, and main courses.

While a glass of fruit juice is technically acceptable, we don’t encourage it, even if you juice it yourself. Juicing removes many of the nutrients from the fruit while leaving all of the sugar behind. We’d prefer that you simply eat the fruit.

Green Beans: Yes

The issue with legumes arises when the seed is consumed. Green beans, like snow peas and sugar snap peas, have a tiny, immature seed and a large, green pod. As a result, we’re unconcerned about the potential drawbacks.

Gum: No

All chewing gums contain additional sweeteners (including xylitol), which aren’t allowed under the Whole30 diet.

Chewing delivers a signal to your body that food is on the way. Your body will become rather confused in its responses if you spend a lot of time chewing but not eating. As a fresh-breath option, consider brushing your teeth more frequently or chewing on mint leaves or fennel seeds. More options can be found in our 9 Fresh-Breath Strategies.

Hummus: No

Garbanzo beans, a legume that is not Whole30 compliant, are used to make traditional hummus. There are, however, several delicious hummus-like dip recipes that use cauliflower, carrots, or even green peas as a foundation.

“Ice Cream: No

Even if it’s just frozen mashed bananas with coconut milk or a frozen concoction made with cashew milk… This, my friends, is ice cream. Unlike regular frozen fruit, this confection’s only objective is to imitate the flavor, texture, and reward sense of ice cream. This is strictly forbidden throughout your Whole30 due to our “Pancake Rule, formerly known as SWYPO.” Simply consume the banana.

Kombucha: Read your labels

Tip: Humm has a Whole30 Approved kombucha option that will be available in December 2020! If you don’t want to deal with the ambiguity of label reading, this is a perfect choice.

Larabars: Read your labels, and use with caution

During your Whole30, most (but not all) versions of Larabars or similar fruit-and-nut bars are permitted, so examine the labels. (Due to the peanuts, the Peanut Butter & Jelly bar is unavailable.)

Tip: Larabars can be used as an emergency snack or as fuel for endurance sports. Don’t use them to satisfy sugar cravings because they’re as close to candy as you can get on the Whole30 (with dates as a binder). The difference between a Snickers bar and a Larabar is lost on your brain!

Monk Fruit: No

Extract of monk fruit, “Sugar in the form of “juice” and “powder” is used as a stand-alone sweetener in food and beverages. It’s similar to stevia in that it’s only used to sweeten things that aren’t already sweet. (A glass of monk fruit juice isn’t actually drinkable!) And, unlike apples or other fruits, you won’t find whole monk fruit in your local Costco; it’s very impossible to find unless you travel to a place where it’s grown, and even then, it’s rarely eaten fresh because it ferments and goes rancid rapidly. As a result, monk fruit is classified as a sweetener rather than a real fruit “Fruit” is incompatible with your 30-day elimination in any form.

Mustard: Read your labels

Mustard is a good option, but make sure to check the labels carefully. The Yellow of the French is suitable, but watch out for Dijonit typically contains white wine, which means it’s off limits throughout your Whole30. In accordance with the Whole30 program regulations, go to our Whole30 Approved partners for spicy, yellow, and even Dijon alternatives.

Nut “Cheese: Read your labels

Based on almonds “As long as the components are compatible, ricotta” or “cream cheese,” cashew-based “queso” dips, and nut-based Alfredo sauces are allowed on the program. These can be used to add creaminess, taste, richness, and tang to burgers, salads, and vegetable noodle dishes “They’re fantastic for dipping raw vegetables as an appetizer or side dish. These cheese recreations aren’t usually over-consumed without the bagels, crackers, or tortilla chips, but like with Larabars or nut butters, exercise your best judgment hereif you’re going through a full tub of queso in one sitting, it might be time to reconsider your relationship with cheese (of any kind).

“Paleo or Grain-Free Bread: No

This relates to the “Pancake Rule,” originally known as SWYPO. Baked items, even those made with Whole30-friendly components, are off limits for the first 30 days. This goes for coconut-cassava tortillas as well as almond or coconut wraps. Simply refuse and instead wrap your meat in a lettuce leaf, portobello mushroom caps, or toasted nori sheets.

Pancakes: No

Because of a recipe that combines egg and banana to make a “pancake,” this has been a source of confusion and anxiety for our community since the beginning of the Whole30. Yes, those two ingredients are compatible, but they’re not Whole30-friendly when mixed and served as a pancake. If you’re curious as to why…

Pancakes, in any form, will not help you stick to the Whole30 program. To achieve your health goals, you must follow the program’s regulations as well as its spirit and aim. First and foremost, the Whole30 is intended to alter your relationship with food. And you can’t overlook the psychological impact of eating pancakes as part of your healthy eating, life-changing plan.

Eating eggs, bananas, and olive oil is not the same as making a pancake with those components. There have been studies that demonstrate how your brain sees food has an impact on satiation. This is most commonly associated with liquid food (smoothies or shakes, as mentioned in the back of It Starts With Food), but we’ve also seen it with entire foods, depending on how they’re combined. Pancakes elicit a very different emotional response than frying eggs and eating a banana. And it is this psychological response that the program is attempting to address.

Even if you don’t like pancakes, we’ve found that most individuals who complete our program do best without any of these comfort/trigger/reminiscent-of-the-SAD-items-you-used-to-eat foods. As a result, we exclude out Paleo recreations since we need to establish a single approach that applies to as many people as feasible. This, in our considerable expertise, ensures that everyone has the highest chance of achieving Whole30 success. And, of course, it’s absolutely up to you what you do when the 30 days are up.

Pasta: Not unless it’s 100% veggies

Noodles made from zucchini ( “Sweet potato noodles (also known as “zoodles”) are a fun way to consume your veggies. (In this instance, “The term “noodles” refers to the shape rather than the taste, texture, or flavor.) However, pasta recreations made with alternative flours (such as Trader Joe’s gnocchi) are explicitly designed to mimic the taste, texture, and flavor of real pastaa “no” under the “Pancake Rule, also known as SWYPO.” Read the labels; if the pasta contains any flour or starch (such chickpea, cassava, potato, or coconut), it’s not Whole30 compliant.

On the Whole30, can you drink unsweetened almond milk?

INGREDIENTS: Silk Unsweetened Coconut Almond Blend Coconutmilk, Almondmilk (Filtered Water, Almonds) (Filtered Water, Coconut Cream), Vitamin and Mineral Blend (Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin E Acetate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2), Sea Salt, Natural Flavor, Sunflower Lecithin, Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum (less than 2%), Sunflower Lecithin, Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum (less than 2%).

Ingredients: Almond milk (Filtered Water, Almonds), Vitamin and Mineral Blend (Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin E Acetate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2), Sea Salt, Natural Flavor, Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum, Ascorbic Acid (less than 2%), Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum, Ascorbic Acid (less than 2%).

Silk Whole30 compliant almond milk is available on Amazon as well as at most major supermarkets, including Target, Walmart, Whole Foods, Cub Foods, Fresh Thyme, and others. Find a retailer near you by using the store locator.

Is Starbucks Nitro cold brew a Whole30 compliant beverage?

“Yes, you can have your coffee,” the Whole30 coffee regulations state. Thank you very much. You can drink it straight, or add unsweetened compliant nutpods, coconut milk, almond milk, cinnamon, or vanilla beans to it.

Is it possible to eat Chick Fil A on a Whole30 diet?

Chick-fil-A Whole30 The tomato and lettuce are yours to keep! “Because it’s largely made up of lean protein, fruits, and vegetables, the market salad is perhaps the most nutritious option on the menu.” “Order the chicken simple, with no blue cheese, dressing, or additional toppings,” Stark advises.

Which Starbucks milk is the healthiest?

Almond milk is the most popular healthy milk option at Starbucks. At 7.5 calories per ounce, it offers the fewest calories of any plant-based or dairy milk available at Starbucks. If you enjoy dairy milk but want to cut calories, go for nonfat, which has 12 calories per ounce.

Is Starbucks’ almond milk different now?

The business told Insider, “This announcement is untrue, and this website is not linked with Starbucks.” Starbucks began offering oat milk in March 2021, following the additions of almond milk in 2016 and coconut milk in 2015.