Is Oat Milk Ice Cream Gluten Free?

Almond, coconut, and cashew milk have long been available in supermarkets, but oat milk is the newest dairy-free alternative to become popular in the United States, appearing everywhere from neighborhood coffee shops to some Starbucks Reserve locations. The finished product is creamier than other nut milks and is created from steel-cut oats or whole groats that are steeped in water, mixed, and then filtered. And although though you might only have started requesting it in lattes or adding it to your morning coffee, the newest oat milk invention is currently available and can be found in the freezer section.

Reader, the season of oat milk ice cream is now in full swing. Oat milk’s entry into the market is significant, even though it’s not the first dairy-free option available (Jeni’s Splendid has pints made with a coconut cream base, Hagen-Dazs even offers boozy non-dairy Amaretto Black Cherry Almond Toffee, and one staffer has been eating soy ice cream since she was a child). In February, So Delicious Dairy Free introduced three dairy-free, gluten-free, and vegan frozen oat milk desserts in three flavors: peanut butter & raspberry, oatmeal cookie, and caramel apple crumble. The company called these sweets “the first-to-market countrywide.” The Swedish oat milk company Oatly, which has rapidly gained popularity in the United States, also debuted its own ice cream line this month. (Also vegan, dairy-free, gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free, and kosher.) We were fascinated by the prospect of a potentially rich, non-dairy ice cream without the headaches of lactose because we are familiar with how creamy oat milk is, but how would it taste? The only way to learn was to invite them in and carry out an extremely rigorous experiment. (Read: On a Wednesday afternoon, we consumed a number of quarts of ice cream. Not the worst way to spend a workday, though.

Out of Oatly’s seven varieties, we were able to sample five of them: chocolate, oat, vanilla, strawberry, and mint chip. We sampled all three flavors of So Delicious, totaling eight pints between the two of us. Each taster visited each dish and recorded their choices. the general opinion? We received a really welcome surprise. Say that five times quickly: Oatly’s oat-flavored-oat-milk ice cream. We also discovered that we adored So Delicious’ Oatmeal Cookie. Continue reading for our opinions on each flavor:

Does oat milk have gluten in it?

the final result. Even though oats are a gluten-free grain, many of them are cross-contaminated with it, hence not all oat milks are. If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, you should only purchase oat milk that has been independently verified to be gluten-free.

Which brands of oat milk are gluten-free?

Fortunately, there are brands of oat milk with less than 20ppm of gluten. You can seek for some of these possibilities in the grocery store if you’re looking for a brand of oat milk that’s gluten-free. You don’t need to worry about conducting additional research because all of these brands contain gluten-free labelling.

First Elmhurst

A dairy business called Elmhurst was established in New York in 1925. In 2017, it made the switch to plant-based milks. The business offers oat milk produced from “Various tastes of milked oats, such as plain, chocolate, and unsweetened.

They use just whole grain oats, filtered water, natural flavors, salt, and cane sugar to make each of their milked oats; there are no emulsifiers or gums. Additionally, the gluten level of their products is guaranteed to be under 20ppm thanks to a label that reads “gluten-free.”

Planet Oat 2.

Oat milk from Planet Oat is commonly described as “just right It gives a smoothie weight without overpowering the flavors of the other ingredients in your blender because it isn’t excessively sweet or oaty. They provide several taste options for their gluten-free oat milk.

Their oat milk is free of lactose, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, artificial preservatives, artificial colors, and artificial flavors in addition to being gluten-free. Additionally, it is available in a variety of delicious flavors, including extra creamy, vanilla, original, and dark chocolate. Even better, their oat milk contains 2 grams of protein and soluble fiber!

Califia Farms, third

California-based Califia Farms says it is dedicated to reducing the amount of sugar in its products. By releasing additional unsweetened choices since 2014, the company asserts that sugar has been reduced by 57%. It offers vanilla flavors, protein boosters, oat and mushroom blends, among other things.

It uses North American-harvested oats to make its gluten-free Oat Barista Blend. The milk contains no stabilizers or gums. Additionally, it is free of dairy, sugar, and carrageenan. The icing on the cake is that it is kosher, vegan, and non-GMO.

4. Planet Happy

At Happy Planet, you may choose from a variety of oat milk products, including shelf-stable and cold case varieties. Their entire menu is gluten-free. Barista oat milk, Original, vanilla, chocolate, and numerous other options are among them.

Mooala 5.

Mooala produces gluten-free oats and sugar-free coconut oat milk. This is a great dairy-free milk choice if you must avoid both gluten and dairy. Their milk is creamy and a wonderful source of calcium and fiber.

6. Oatly

Oatly produces their oat milk using gluten-free oats. They provide a selection of flavors that are all suited for a dairy-free diet. For all of your cappuccino and latte needs, this is without a doubt the best substitute milk for the coffee lovers out there.

It is made from liquid oats, without the addition of sugar, and is rich in unsaturated fat, mimicking the advantages of whole milk. There are numerous variations, including a chilled barista edition, full fat, and low fat.

Does oat cream have gluten in it?

It varies depending on where you live when it comes to gluten. Our goods are prepared with oats that have been verified to be free of gluten in the US, and as a result, they are gluten-free. Our products do, however, contain a negligible quantity of gluten throughout Europe and Asia (less than 100ppm mg/kg product, to be exact). As a result, even if it is a negligible amount of gluten, they cannot, of course, be considered entirely gluten-free.

Then what? The production facility where our ice cream is made (which is obviously where our Salty Caramel Hazelnut is made) is the only area where we use nuts as an ingredient, and we have strong protocols in place with our suppliers to reduce the danger of nuts being present in any of our other products. In other words, unless they are referred to as “Hazelnut-something,” our items are nut-free.

None of them. Most of them aren’t, in actuality. But some of our best-selling items, like our oat beverages and cooking creams, are also available in organic form. And as to why we don’t have more organic goods? There are several reasons, one of which is that most markets forbid the enrichment of organic goods.

Oatly oat milk: does it contain gluten?

A vegan, plant-based milk substitute derived from gluten-free oats is called Oatly oatmilk. Really, it’s quite easy. Just oats and water make up our oat base. But what makes Oatly so unique is what we do with those oats and that water.

We both are! The main office of Oatly is located in Malmo, Sweden, where the company was founded about 25 years ago by Rickard Ste, who also pioneered the now-patented method of producing liquid oats at Lund University. Since decades, Oatly has been a tiny Swedish business and a well-known Swedish brand with a sizable following abroad. And right now, we’re introducing Oatly in the US. As a result, we’ve discovered how to process top-notch, gluten-free North American oats into our favorite liquid oat products here as well.

For our US products, we use premium, gluten-free oats from US and Canadian farms that uphold the highest standards of sustainability and sustainable agriculture.

You may view the sources of each of our ingredients by visiting the product pages and selecting the “where does it originate from” button.

Which milks are free of gluten?

A gluten-free diet is suggested for persons with celiac disease and includes gluten-free milk. Gluten is a protein present in some grains that some people’s digestive systems are unable to adequately handle. This results in an immune system response and might harm the small intestines. All cow’s milk is gluten-free as long as it is consumed in its natural state because milk from animals does not contain gluten. Customers should exercise caution because some products made with gluten-free milk also include gluten-containing thickeners and chemicals.

Milk that is free of gluten is produced naturally by cows, goats, and sheep. Gluten-intolerant persons only respond to milk products that have additives made from cereals that contain gluten. If malt flavorings, vegetable gum, or hydrolyzed vegetable protein are derived from wheat or other gluten-containing grains, then the dairy products that contain them may also contain gluten. Some yogurt, sour cream, chocolate milk, and other milk beverages with flavoring may include gluten. Gluten is absent from homemade chocolate milk made with pure cocoa powder and milk.

Gluten-free dairy products don’t have any additives derived from wheat. All types of milk—whole, skim, and low-fat—are gluten-free. Furthermore, plain yogurt is gluten-free. In flavored yogurt products, flavorings, thickeners, and other additions could include gluten. The majority of cheese, including some processed cheese products and natural cheeses like Swiss and Cheddar, are also gluten-free.

Some people have a sensitivity to dairy products as well as gluten. Alternatives to dairy products derived from animals include non-dairy varieties made from soy, almonds, or rice. The grains rye, barley, and wheat, including its subspecies spelt and durum, contain the protein gluten. Other members of the nut and grain families are safe for those with celiac disease because they don’t contain gluten. Given that rice does not contain gluten, rice milk is gluten-free as long as it does not contain thickeners derived from wheat.

Other non-dairy items derived from soybeans or almonds are suitable for a gluten-free diet. The plain, unsweetened forms of gluten-free milk made from soy, rice, or almonds won’t trigger reactions in people who are intolerant to gluten or dairy. Some flavors and thicknesses of non-dairy milks are created particularly without gluten and marked as such. People with celiac disease can learn about gluten-free eating options through a variety of resources.

Some labels will specify whether a product made with dairy or non-dairy milk is gluten-free. The contents can be examined for items that may include gluten even if the label does not indicate it. Occasionally, wheat and other gluten-containing grains are used to make the additives vegetable protein, vegetable gum, and modified food starch. These are in addition to the additives that may be derived from gluten-containing cereals like wheat and others that were already described.

Oat milk is it inflammatory?

Your gut will struggle if you consume soy, a common allergy. Additionally, it includes isoflavones, which are chemical substances that resemble estrogen. According to research, soy-based foods and a diet heavy in soy may cause hormone imbalances, reduced sperm counts, and problems with fertility. Additionally, goitrogens included in soy milk may suppress your thyroid gland, making it particularly dangerous for people with thyroid conditions.

Oat Milk

By simply combining oats and water, you may easily prepare the well-liked plant milk known as oat milk. Although it’s probably not the worst choice you have to choose, it’s unquestionably not the finest. Oats contain a lot of carbohydrates, which may cause blood sugar to spike and inflammation. Additionally, a lot of the oat milk brands available today are loaded with sugar and other ingredients. Even processed oils like canola oil, which can cause inflammation in the body, may be present in some products. The oats from which the milk is derived may not be gluten-free due to a significant risk of pesticide residue and gluten cross-contamination. I advise avoiding oat milk since it contains gluten, which can induce food allergies, systemic inflammation, leaky gut syndrome, and subsequent health problems, such as autoimmune illnesses.

Are Oats Inflammatory?

Oats were thought to be a gluten-free option for those with inflammatory conditions. But that is no longer the case, owing to recent study. A fresh topic of discussion that keeps coming up is inflammation caused by oat milk. In people who have gluten sensitivity, components in oat proteins have been found to trigger inflammation and damage, according to recent studies. These are the reasons I advise against including oats and oat milk in your diet.

Although oats themselves are gluten-free at the molecular level, the other crops that are often grown next to them are not. Cross contamination has a huge window of opportunity given this situation. The risk is too high for those who are gluten intolerant, whether it occurs during harvesting or packing in a facility. Oats become inflamed as a result. Even if the trace amounts are minimal, they nonetheless go beyond the threshold required to be labeled gluten-free.

Pea Milk

Despite the fact that it is high in protein, I advise against eating it. Peas are a type of legume that may not be easily digested. Foods that have only partially digested in the digestive system might feed the harmful bacteria in your gut and upset its delicate balance. This could result in leaky gut syndrome, the underlying factor in autoimmune illnesses and other health issues.

Rice Milk

Although rice milk may appear like a viable alternative, the majority of rice milks are devoid of nutrients and loaded with additives. It contains a lot of carbohydrates and could cause weight gain, intestinal imbalance, and blood sugar problems. Additionally, it has been found to contain more inorganic arsenic. Even the Food and Drug Administration has advised against using it around infants, children, and pregnant women.

The fact that there are now excellent-tasting, non-dairy alternatives to cow’s milk is one of the most recent breakthroughs, even though I frequently point out that our modern diet is deficient in many ways. Although I prefer coconut milk, you could discover that hemp milk is enticing or that, if you can handle nuts without feeling queasy, almond or cashew milk is suitable for you.

Whatever you decide, let’s raise a glass to the beneficial, gut-supporting dairy substitutes. Check out this helpful questionnaire to determine the problem if you’re still suffering from painful gas, bloating, or other symptoms even after giving up dairy.

I am aware that changing your eating habits might be challenging! Check out my cookbook for easy and delectable dishes that show you’ll never feel deprived, whether you’ve already given up dairy or need a little encouragement to do so. I’ve provided hundreds of recipes that make it simple to cut off dairy for your best health, including soups, main dishes, sides, and desserts.

Finally, assist your digestion with my Complete Enzymes while you experiment with different possibilities. These were created by me to promote healthy digestion, nutritional absorption, and support the body’s inflammatory and intestinal repair processes. It is the greatest digestive enzyme for breaking down a variety of foods.

Complete Enzymes are designed to aid in healthy digestion, nutrient absorption, intestinal repair, and inflammatory reactions in the body.